Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New member here from Canada, recent rider and owner of a 1983 GS400E

Hello GS riders,

I live in Quebec City, Canada and I am new to motorcycle riding.
    About a month ago I got my hands on a canadian 1983 GS400E with 50 000 km on it. That bike is perfect for me!

filedata/fetch?id=1705228&d=1664751194&type=thumb

I'm happy I found this forum wich seems full of good tips.
    I hope I can find someone with the very same motorcycle as me here! (crossing fingers)

Things I have done since I got the bike:

-cleaned chain and sprocket for the first time in years (previous owner just kept using maxima wax without ever cleaning it...)
    -replaced a badly routed clutch cable
    -cleaned the front brake switch and ordered a replacement
    -bled the front brake for the first time in 50 000 km...
    -replaced the front bearing and the front tire
    -replaced a couple burned bulbs (stop light and licence plate)

All of these went really well!

...then I replaced the stator and the regulator/rectifier unit (with an SH775) and I learned the hard way I wasn't talented at all at making a gasket seal properly... I really lack experience here. Hope I can make that gasket seal properly in the next few days...
    You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.
    Last edited by Mat; 10-02-2022, 08:10 PM.
    1983 GS400E - Canada specific
    Noobie mechanic with some determination

Hay mat, welcome and congrats.. Great introduction, great picture of bike, and great picture in general. Looks like you got a great start here.
    1983 GS1100E, 1983 CB1100F, 1991 GSX1100G, 1996 Kaw. ZL600 Eliminator, 1999 Bandit 1200S, 2005 Bandit 1200S, 2000 Kaw. ZRX 1100

Comment

Bienvenue!
      I have the same bike, same color but with black wheels.
      Marc
      AIR COOLED MONSTERS NEVER DIE
      1978 GS1000C X2
      1978 GS1000E X2
      1979 GS1000S
      1979 gs1000
      1983 gs400e

Comment