Hello from Minnesota

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Minnesota

Hello! I’m a union carpenter, parent of a 12yo, 42, lover of old things (fixing up my 120yo house is my main project outside work). I got my first bike (81 450t) late last summer. It has been very fun to learn to ride on. Most of my riding has been around Minneapolis/St. Paul—up and down the river road, around the lakes, and to school parking lots for practice. I rode out to Hastings and up 95 past Taylor’s Falls a couple times. I’m still very new and just getting to the point where I can unclench while on the highway. Acquiring gear and riding in the early morning has helped. I would love to ride all the way around Lake Superior some day. Another desire of mine is to ride down to Pahrump NV and visit my dad, and go riding with him.

So, PO had installed pods and a 2 to 1 exhaust on the bike. As well as lower flatter bars which I don’t hate. (I’m really short, 5’2”). He gave me the original airbox, exhaust, and bars in case I want to restore the bike, which I do. It doesn’t hesitate when I tell it to go, but idles fast, maybe a little uneven, and there’s intermittent popping all the time. After listening to the original exhaust sound of these bikes on YouTube videos, I think I would prefer that. I have been reading this forum for a little while and I know I need to go down the laundry list and make all kinds of improvements. I’m nervous to take it apart but it will probably be ok. It is warming up enough here that I can spend some time in the garage.

My only dilemma is what would I ride in the mean time. I’m trying to convince my partner that one more GS would solve this problem. I’ll let you know how that goes
    You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.
    Last edited by gay_bob_vila; 03-17-2024, 07:25 PM.
    1981 GS450T

Welcome to the site, Bob.