Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am New to the GS

Hey Guys, Girls

I just bought my first GS bike. It is a 1983 GS550 cruiser style. I think that is an L type. I am also a member of the xj forms which is helpful with my xj550. Those guys are awesome if you happen to have an xj. Not to be competition, I love my Yamaha and I can't compare it yet with the gs because I do not have the gs running.

It is a project bike. Apparently, the guy I bought it from attempted to change the clutch cable and it all when awry after that. Taking it apart, using the Clymer as a guide, I found the clutch basket in tack but the pump drive gear broken and the sleeve hub broken. Along with one of the washers chewed up up likely from hitting it with something trying to take the sleeve hub off. He said he dropped something on the clutch cable side while attaching it, and I can't determine what it may be. It seems everything there is in tack except the chain sprocket is missing a washer on the nut side. But that is a separate issue.

I was able to find a clutch basket assembly from a 1983 E model, I would like to know if that is the same as the cruiser or L model?

In any case, I would appreciate any input or info you guy put in and look forward to enjoying this GS. And BTW my wife likes the look of the gs over the xj so I may be spending more time on once I get it going. We'll see.

Welcome! If the basket you bought was from a 550 E, then you can be sure it fits. Not sure about other engine sizes.

1983 GS750ED-Horsetraded for the Ironhead
    1981 HD XLH

Drew's 850 L Restoration

Drew's 83 750E Project

Comment