Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi, I'm my retired dad's internet liason.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi, I'm my retired dad's internet liason.

Hello! New here, really just here as the middle man between the internet and my father, who is about as good at using the internet as he is at playing golf(he has never once done either.....honest!). And this is going to be long because I personally like reading other peoples back stories and also I have nothing better to do this morning - Saturday morning couch time.

A few years ago I bought a poorly cared for 1979 GS850GN and rode it around for a while before it suddenly refused to be ridden anymore. Acted like it was starving for fuel. It was my first bike and I am not a vehicle mechanic(I do rebuild industrial electric motors for a living, but vehicles are voodoo to me). I now fully understand that numerous checks and maintenance obviously should have been done before I ever attempted to ride the old nag, as it had been sitting unused for years, and also questionable repairs had been made to it by the fella I bought it from for $400.

I messed around with it a bit, cleaned the carbs and adjusted the valve clearance, put it back together and it ran again......albeit poorly. Was ready to start troubleshooting but to my dismay I discovered a significant fuel leak from the "T" nipple that feeds the carbs from the fuel line. At this point I was pretty disgusted at the idea of taking the carbs BACK off and ordering yet another part and I only have so much time in a day so it went in the back of the garage and sat for two years(sacrilege, I know).