Proud poppa of a rusty 83 GS1100L

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Proud poppa of a rusty 83 GS1100L

Hello all. New guy here from western Washington state. Yesterday I got myself a free 83 GS1100L which I plan on restoring to some degree. What degree will come down to budget more then anything but I'm also just dying to get back on 2 wheels after a 10 year or so hiatus. Ironically enough, my bike has a nearly identical hiatus since it last ran as well.

So my current plan is replace all fluids, plugs, and filters before even trying to start her. A battery recharge or replacement and cleaning of, well, everything of course is in order. Once I've gotten her running, I'll start to work out a plan for what I want to do as far as restoring/customizing. This will be a daily driver for me so won't be going too crazy regardless.

The previous owner knew almost nothing of the bike other then that it hasn't ran in a decade. So, my major issue at the moment is no keys. She couldn't find them anywhere and, as the bike was free, I took it anyway.

So my question is if anyone knows the best and/or cheapest way to get keys. Should a key for the ignition on this model also be the same for the fuel tank and seat? My main concern is the seat at this point so I can start disassembling things. I gently tried a screwdriver but no go and wasn't about to force it at this point. I have the vin but couldn't find key codes anywhere, though I haven't removed the ignition to see if they put it on there anywhere.

So any help, advice, questions, greetings, or critique of my plan or anything shall be met with gratitude. Thanks all in advance and I'm very happy to have found this site as it's truly a wealth of info. Have a great day all and with a little luck, work, and hopefully minimal cash, I'll be back on the road in the proper fashion in a few months