Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie from CA . 1980 GS750L Cafe Project.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie from CA . 1980 GS750L Cafe Project.

Greetings everyone! Stoked to be here. Ive been looking for a project bike for awhile now so I picked up a 1980 GS750L for $200 at a garage sale that i couldnt pass up. This is my very first build and Im very excited about it and spent a week off and on tearing her down with lots of hours and hours of researching. Itll be a full rebuild/cafe project. I have already learned alot from this site and look forward to learning a lot more from you all. Cheers!
    -Nicky G

20180126_112014.jpg

Welcome!

Make sure you get the bike running proper before you begin modifications (or rather, continue the existing ones). Especially so since this is your first project.

As on that topic; the bike has CV carbs, and these do not play well with pods. It's to be doubted that the PO has done that correctly.

Best of luck with your project, you have your work cut out for you. A rebuild for a first project sure is a steep bill.
    #1: 1979 GS 550 EC "Red" – Very first Bike / Overhaul thread        New here? ☛ Read the Top 10 Newbie mistakes thread
    #2: 1978 GS 550 EC "Blue" – Can't make it a donor / "Rebuild" thread     Manuals (and much more): See Cliff's homepage here
    #3: 2014 Moto Guzzi V7 II Racer – One needs a runner while wrenching
    #4: 1980 Moto Guzzi V65C – Something to chill

Comment

Originally posted by roeme View Post
      Welcome!

Make sure you get the bike running proper before you begin modifications (or rather, continue the existing ones). Especially so since this is your first project.

As on that topic; the bike has CV carbs, and these do not play well with pods. It's to be doubted that the PO has done that correctly.

Best of luck with your project, you have your work cut out for you. A rebuild for a first project sure is a steep bill.