Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

experimenting with a carb..

Hi all,

Just as an introduction, I have a degree in physics and am doing my Ph.D, work in electrical engineering.

Now that I have two bikes, and my 750E is now my backup, I'm thinking about playing with the carb. I've done some reading about possible performance improvements by heating the bowl to help vaporize the gas.

I'm thinking about mechanically altering the bowl to add in an electrical heater that will function to both increase the surface area of exposed gas and act as a heater to bring it up to 200-300F as it's being pulled into the carb.

This may sound like a totally crackpot idea, considering I am not a mechanic, but the science of it sounds good to me. It's far enough below the flashpoint as to not burn the gas, but hot enough to help it vaporize. Also, I was thinking of adding a heater into the fuel line right before the carb instead to save some trouble. Or adding a preheated reservoir.

I understand that re-jetting the carb would increase performance more, but this is an idea I'd like to tinker with. Is there something I'm missing to make this a completely futile idea?

Feel free to tell me I'm a moron. =)

//Glis

A little more research might be in order....

"It's far enough below the flashpoint as to not burn the gas, but hot enough to help it vaporize. "

Where did you get your flashpoint of gas numbers?
    Gasoline used to flash at -45 f
    I think it would be impossible to start a cold engine if it weren't so.

But go for it, the worse thing that could happen is a large black melted spot in the road where your bike used to be.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Terms

Sorry, I mean the autoignition temperature.

Comment

Sounds like a vapor-phase carb. Supposedly it will increase fuel economy as well. Keep us posted. I'm interested.

Comment

More info

I just found this...

It's a nifty read, a little too conspiracy theory for me though. =)

Comment