first ride on my bike!!!!!!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

first ride on my bike!!!!!!!!

Had to share with you fellow list members!
    Just finished my 8 nite, (3 hours a nite) riding course provided at a local college and learned a tonne! I am a newbie (having ridden a dirt bike about 30 years ago for a total of 10 minutes, and not getting it out of second gear) so i am veryyyyyyyy glad I took the course and actually learned how to ride a bike.
    Purchased the bike in November of last year, had it sitting in my garage, did the recommended maintanence, stared at it, sat it, cleaned it, etc. up until yesterday.
    Was a little concerned as the bikes we learned on were honda 125's, but had zero problems adapting to mine. Went out with a buddy and had a friggin blast. I love my bike!!! Have to get a little more street time and I am going to be ready for the driver's test you have to take here in Alberta to get my class 6 (motorbike) license.
    Oh yeah...even got my first wave...it was even from a Harley guy!!
    Anyways, i know most of you veteran riders can remember your first ride like it was yesterday. I will always remember mine!
    Cheers
    Rick

Well done.

Just take your time and don't get cocky as the streets can be really mean. Statistically , you will have an accident in the first season. Hopefully it won't be anything big and you won't get injured, don't let it scare you but keep it in the back of your mind.

You have a big powerful bike so treat it with respect. It can bite you if you don't pay attention so keep focused when you ride. You have new skills to learn and the street is not the best place to learn. As much as you can, get out to a parking lot and practice manouvering that bike. At slow speeds it is going to be a handful but to truly master the bike you need to be able make it go where you want at walking speed.