Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

From sportbiker to GS'er

Hey All,

Sometimes in life you have to stop and reprioritize things.

I've been riding for about 8 years now. In 2008 I bought my dream bike, a 2007 Yamaha FZ1. I loved that bike. I put 22k miles on it in three seasons of riding. During this time I also founded the Tri-City Sportbike Club, which encourages intelligent, but fun riding through education and experienced fellow riders.

Now to the prioritization part:
    In late 2011 my wife and I were expecting out 2nd son to arrive soon. We both still had our college vehicles which were getting old and had high mileage. My GMC Sonoma held 0 kids and her Grand AM GT required a contortionist effort to get a kids car seat in and out! So I needed to look at things objectively. We can either get a passable vehicle which will need more repairs and not really suit all our needs or I can sell the bike and we can afford to get a long-term and reliable vehicle for the lil guys. So in the fall of 2011 my FZ1 was sold. Sad day, but it was the right decision.

With those funds we now have a reliable vehicle for the guys and 4 doors to get them in and out! Yay! Probably saved me several trips to chiropractor! LOL!

Eventually some small funds generated and I found another of my "dream" bikes, a GS650 with very low miles and in OK condition. I have recently rebuilt the engine, validated the timing, adjusted valves, repalced plugs, fixed tensioner and all that good stuff. Took it out for it's first real ride (very short) and it was great. Very fast bike for it's size (673 cc) and weight.

Perhaps one of my sons will ride it in another 15 years!

Bravo!! It should be around for your sons if it's a typical GS and gets regular maintenance.
    1983 GS 1100 Guided Laser
    1983 GS 1100 G
    2000 Suzuki Intruder 1500, "Piggy Sue"
    2000 GSF 1200 Bandit (totaled in deer strike)
    1986 Suzuki Cavalcade GV 1400 LX (SOLD)