Looking for the GS that got away

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for the GS that got away

Sorry all, I really wasn't sure where to post this, but I could see telling it to a bunch of bikers around a campfire, and who knows, maybe, just maybe, I could learn the fate of my old girl, Big Blue.

See, when I turned 17, a touch over 10 years ago now, I had been riding bikes for about three years, starting with a 49cc gy6 Chinese scooter, and moving up to a 150cc gy6. They were both blasts, and I enjoyed the rides I got to go on with my grandfather, following his Yamaha V-Star Classic 650. At that time, my grandfather gave me a price range, said he'd buy me a cheap used bike. I hunted local classifieds and craigslist ads around Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri, and ended up upon a 1983 Suzuki GS650L. (What I would later come to learn was fully a GS650GLD ) It was the best bike a kid could ask for, besides a clutch that slipped on a hard pull, though I'm certain it saved me from myself a few times. I put about 1000 miles on it before the engine locked, taking the tranny with it. My grandfather hauled it to Kansas City, Missouri, and had all the drive system replaced, and I lost count of the miles I put on it after that. I had done several things to it, having the stock air box removed, pod filters installed, carbs rejetted, rebuilt, and resynced. It really woke up the old gal! I never really got to put too many more miles on her after this though, as life got too crazy. She went with me in the back of my truck, bouncing around place to place, all over the country, and then I fell on truly hard times, in a border city known as Texarkana, Texas, where I was forced to choose between losing a lot of things I had only just started to establish in my life, and my bike, and so away the bike went, to a pawn shop, of all places... It wasn't that I didn't love Big Blue, it was honestly just a hard time in life. I've gone through a lot since that day, back in wh