Cal. floods worst in 84 yrs.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cal. floods worst in 84 yrs.

Yep, hate it for those folks, certainly something the aren't accustomed to, worst they've had in 84 yrs. I've heard the media mention several times what is causing this one, I've been listening but so far I've not heard the reason for that one 84 yrs. ago yet, I think it would be interesting to know.
    1983 GS1100E, 1983 CB1100F, 1991 GSX1100G, 1996 Kaw. ZL600 Eliminator, 1999 Bandit 1200S, 2005 Bandit 1200S, 2000 Kaw. ZRX 1100

Originally posted by rphillips View Post
    Yep, hate it for those folks, certainly something the aren't accustomed to, worst they've had in 84 yrs. I've heard the media mention several times what is causing this one, I've been listening but so far I've not heard the reason for that one 84 yrs. ago yet, I think it would be interesting to know.
    ???
    it's called rain ... in excess

what's your real question?
    (and why would your go-to be the 'media'?)

ps. keep in mind ... they did not have todays infrastructure yet built, that helps channel floodwaters ... like the canals that are now everywhere (but still can get overwhelmed)
    I believe that flooding back then was a major catalyst to them building all that stuff ... channelling floods.
    Had that not been there ... this weekend woulda been alot worse!
    Last edited by ptegsotic; 08-21-2023, 02:08 PM.
    1100 Katana / 1100 ES

pragmatic not dogmatic

Comment

Didn't really have a question, no doubt the longer we go the more prepared we should be for these type things. Only mentioned the media cause most of the time I saw this story the reason for this one is brought up, I'd wondered what the cause of the earlier one was. Nashville TN. had their worst in 2010, it was caused by a hurricane, can only imagine how bad it would have been if the 4 or 5 upstream reservoirs hadn't been installed over the yrs.