Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mikuni RS38 Setup

The bike: 2004 Bandit 1200

Mods: 1991 Katana 750 Dot head with 89 GSXR750 cams, pod filters, Black Widow head pipes with Yoshimura RS3 can.

The Issue: No run or start. I know the carbs need to be set up but I can only get the bike to run by constantly cranking the throttle, i.e., using the accelerator pump. Carbs are brand new and not setup at all, so I knew they wouldn't be perfect, but I was expecting them to at least start and idle.

I am thinking needle position, since opening up the idle screw did not do much of anything after two full turns, but I am a complete novice to this and would appreciate any advice. Thanks.

BTW, when did the site drop the GSXR support?

Suspect it's not the carbs - I put the same brand new set on 3 very different motors ( 1127 K model lump, 82 GS1100 and 99 1200 bandit) to prove the motors before tearing down the bike ...... anyway - straight out of the box with No adjustment all 3 fired,ticked over and cleanly revved (as my neighbours will attest) - mixture was close (if slightly lean) on all 3 too.
    doesnt help but I'd check elsewhere - ignition or valve timing overly advanced ???
    78 GS1000C- Now sporting 1100E suspension and numerous goodies
    82 GS750E/82 1100E/ GSXR Frankenstein bike completed
    83 1100E "rescue bike" saved from the barn
    2008 Bking - Torque Torque Torque
    Next project slowly coalescing

Comment

Check the float height, the mixture screws (fuel) and the idle adjuster screw.

Float height could be way off from factory, should be set at 17mm.
      Mixture, shey should at least run at 3/4 (but could be lean or rich depending on temperature and humidity) out from lightly seated (only use your fingers to adjust these or you could snap the points off).
      Needle position only comes in to play later but start in the middle groove.