still trying to get 450l to start.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

still trying to get 450l to start.

I was on here few months ago seeking some help with my 1983 450L, it won't start and most everybody said it was cause I put pods on and had straight pipes. Well I put some restrictive mufflers on and taped up pods (have no airbox) and all I get is backfiring after cranking on it for while, I have spark at plugs. I am new to this kind of bike but I have good knowledge of bikes in general. I do have a old clymers service manual and have tried test's on igniter and signal generator. Nothing definite there. Is it possible for it to jump time in cam chain area? Im trying to keep this low budget for now until I see if I can get this thing to start. Because I do have spark at plugs, but don't know if firing at right time. Just looking for other things to check before I try getting different parts (igniter/signal gen.)to try and get this thing started. Any help is appreciated.

Pods and a pipe have absolutely nothing to do with starting. They only come into effect when you come off the idle circuit into the needle and the main jet. You need to look elsewhere.
    If it is backfiring, you need to remove your valve cover and check the timing of the cams.

Comment

Thanks koolaide kid, I will give it a look insde. I'm going to assume there is is some timing marks. Im not familiar with cam chains and such, with my old harley I had it had gear to gear with marks to align. Is there much to these to get them in time? I don't have bunch Of faith in this service manual I have, but it's all I got.

Comment

Lots of posts on cam to crank timing- don't be intimidated. Bike should start if you have compression, fuel and spark at about the right time- fine tuning comes later.

remove valve cover and signal generator cover- best to remove spark plugs as it will be easier to turn crankshaft to line up marks.

1981 gs650L