Gs650g trans swap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gs650g trans swap

Hello I am new to this sight and have been pleased with all the information. My question is, do any of you know if a chain drive trans is a straight swap into a gs650g shaft drive frame. I am wanting to hardtail it and want to change to chain so I can change the gearing on it. Thanks for all of your help.

You can not simply change the transmission, you have to change the entire crankcase.

If you have your heart set on a chain-driven GS650, they do exist, as the GS650E. Your shaft-driven bike is either a GS650G or a GS650GL.

There are some that have sucessfully hard-tailed a shaft-driven bike, but you have to be careful how you attach the rear frame to the final drive unit. The existing shock mounting point is not engineered for the high shock loads of no suspension. The shock mount on the right side should be no problem.

Why are you wanting to change the ratio? It is geared nearly-perfect for that engine as-is.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

Ok thanks for the info. I was wanting to change the gearing for a little lower rpm around 70 mph and highway speed. Seems like it revs high like around 6000 I'm just concerned that this high of rpm will damage the motor

Comment

Chugging it at lower RPM will do more damage.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Originally posted by Klaoutdoors View Post