Proper re-thread method on stripped valve cover bolts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Proper re-thread method on stripped valve cover bolts

June of the last year I had a shop service my valves and re-torque the head. Turns out that the base leak I thought was really coming from the valve cover and when I picked up the bike the mechanic said three of the valve cover bolts were stripped out. He did not fix these or call me to tell me they needed fixed which would have been nice He said bring it back in the winter, impossible to do because I have moved. Is there a proper procedure to follow for this occurrence? I have limited mechanical experience but now have a garage space that I can work in. TIA.

I am a fan of Helicoils. Do you have the engine out of the bike? Getting access to the holes will be the biggest issue. You can search YouTube to find videos for how to install them. If the engine is in the frame & stuff is in the way will be your biggest problem.
    Ray.

Comment

I just did one on my bike last weekend. I had to get a right angle drill attachment, and drill through from underneath. Mine was the front center one next to the cam chain tunnel. I was just barely able to get a tap and the helicoil tool in from the top side. It all worked out fine though.

1983 GS750ED-Horsetraded for the Ironhead
      1981 HD XLH

Drew's 850 L Restoration

Drew's 83 750E Project

Comment

I had a stripped out center cover bolt and I drilled it out to use a bolt with nut, works well after 8 years.
        1980 Suzuki GS550E, 1981 Suzuki GS 1100EX all stock, 1983 Suzuki GS 1100EX modified, 1985 GS1150E, 1998 Honda Valkyrie Tourer, 1971 Kawasaki Mach lll 500 H1, 1973 Kawasaki Mach lV 750 H2.

Comment

Helicoil for sure, I've done many and mostly by hand with a cordless drill and hand tap, very important to drill and tap straight if not you will have a bigger problem.