Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to be sure I installed my new clutch cable correctly?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to be sure I installed my new clutch cable correctly?

(Please correct any mistakes in my vocabulary. I'm still learning about motorcycles, and I don't know whether I'm using the right terms in the right ways.)

The clutch cable on my 1982 GS850 GL broke. I bought a new one from D2Moto, advertised for 1981 - 1983 GS850, GS850G, and GS850GL. It does not look like the one pictured. Instead, it looks like this. In that picture, it is on the left. The broken cable is on the right (missing the round end near the top of the picture). You'll notice the new cable is a few inches longer than the one it is replacing. Should I be concerned by that? Where do people get the OEM cables I keep seeing recommended?

I installed the new cable, but I'm left wondering if I did it correctly, or if I need a different cable. There are several issues, which I'll number for reference:

1. The cable has just barely enough length peeking outside the sheath to install it. I have to adjust both ends of the cable to be as short as possible for it to fit. Once installed, I can adjust the ends a little, but how worried should I be about tension on the cable? I don't want to break a new one.
    2. The lever arm on top of the clutch case has a range of motion, about 45 degrees, where it can swing freely. I can swing it in that range without encountering any resistance. When people talk about "free play" in the clutch cable, how does it relate to the lever arm's free range of motion? Should I install the cable so that it rests where the lever arm has no free swing left, or where it has maximum free swing, or somewhere in between?