gs650gl beginner trouble

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gs650gl beginner trouble

hey my names ian im pretty new to the bike scene and i picked up a gs650gl for $700, i already read the deadly sins post and another and sorry to say ive bought a bike that was too cheap to be good. im wondering if anyone here has the oem specs for my air pilot screw turns (i guess aswell as the fuel screw), i watched a carb clean video and used the spray so i did another thing wrong, but the dude in the vid told me take my air pilot screw out and didnt ever show putting it back in, now i know i messed up because i had no clue what is was. im gonna be running it with my airbox, i have a stock exhaust, and i am sure that its stock jetting this bike was untouched for a very long time till it sat by the previous owner and the no knowledge me picked it up. the good news is i took off the black spraypaint and it had the original black/blue with gold pinstripe paint on it, still looks pretty good with small scuffs on it. i get my fuel valve tomorrow the one on it leaks now its a new problem that surfaced, i also had to get another pair of gaskets because the ones i bought were too thin and interfered with my needle having the float bowl rest on it. please if anyone knows the amount of turns im supposed to do or has any advice on what to do so i can get it running again. sorry this may end up being a long post. prior to it being down when i went to check it out the bike was sitting for a minute and he started it up and it had alot of smoke at first, but it ended up being none after i rode it for two days, i would hear the tone of the engine change throughout riding it and it has me believing the carbs may have been out of balance. when i rode it for a little longer of a trip it shut down on me twice in a row when i pulled in my clutch to downshift and stop. it sat at my friends house then didnt want to start back up. also if anyone has a site to get the boot gaskets at i l