no start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

no start

I have a GS1100e that will not even try to start. I have fuel, good compression and spark. I've checked all the usual suspects, ie the fuel tank is full, the kill switch is not on, no problems with the wiring, battery is new. The bike cranks fine but will not even attempt to start. I've used starter fluid and I don't even get a pop. The bike hasn't been sitting for an extended period of time. It was running fine, in fact I just got back from Virginia, and it stopped. I am at a loss. What could I be overlooking? Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks

Welcome, I'm no mechanic, but if it doesn't even hit using starting fluid, I'd be looking at spark...
    1983 GS1100E, 1983 CB1100F, 1991 GSX1100G, 1996 Kaw. ZL600 Eliminator, 1999 Bandit 1200S, 2005 Bandit 1200S, 2000 Kaw. ZRX 1100

Comment

Originally posted by bix49 View Post
      . . . .. I have good compression and spark. ..........
      Tell us more about how you determined those.

Oh, and we need pic of the bike.
      Yah, need to know if Red or the silver.
      (joking)
      Picture might show if stock or aftermarket stuff.

Had 850G for 14 years. Now have GK since 2005.
      GK at IndyMotoGP Suzuki Display... ... GK on GSResources Page ... ... Euro Trash Ego Machine .. ..3 mo'cykls.... update 2 mocykl

Comment

A few more things to consider ...
        - What is the airbox situation? Stock with filter, converted to pods, nothing, etc.? Maybe it's getting way too much air or maybe not enough. Probably not the cause if it was running recently
        - Among the usual suspects, was choke on? Was choke circuit clean? It's probably not that if starter fluid didn't work, but worth confirming.
        Current rides: GS650L, GS550T, GL500, GL1100, Bonnie, Triumph Adventurer, Guzzi California

Comment

Well,