New seats on a budget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New seats on a budget

I would like to see some of your aftermarket seats on your L models. I have an 850GL and i would like to update the seat a little. So could some of you guys post pics and say how you made your seat or where you purchased it from. I'm a student right now so i have a pretty small budget so i won't be able to buy a $300 seat and if you could say how much you paid for it that would be great. Thanks

I am interested as well. Seems like good GL seats are non existent!!

Comment

Hi Mr. GSJake,

If you're on a tight budget, a "repair" or "refresh" might be more in order until more funds are available. If your seat foam is OK, perhaps you can install a new cover. If the seat foam is damaged or worn, Dennis Kirk and others sell foam kits that you can "cut and paste". Check Mr. bwringer's entry in THIS THREAD.

Thank you for your indulgence,

BassCliff

Comment

To do a really cheap job, you could always learn to do your own. I did this seat for about $5 worth of vinyl and scrim (sewing foam) a few years ago on a GS1000 I used to have. It's satisfying in the same way that tuning carbs is.

Last edited by Guest; 02-28-2009, 04:05 PM.

Comment

I got a new cover from the Dennis Kirk cataloge. As long as the existing seat foam and sheetmetal (including the prongs) are in good shape, it will look as good as new.

Comment

How about thisfrom a Honda CM185 "Twinstar"? Just a couple easy brackets, and bolted her on .....comfy too!

Comment

how's this for a cheap seat...

mostly kidding, but I had good luck having a local lady sew up a new seat for my 650 off the original foam and pan. I think it ran $75 but was worth every penny!

thomas, do you have a full on walking foot sewing machine or what? that's cheap once you own the machine...

Comment

Originally posted by snowbeard View Post
                how's this for a cheap seat...