Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How much prep to paint my tank?

Hi guys,

Being that I'm not an auto mechanic (nor a painter) I was wondering if anyone could give me some quick advice.

I'm including these hi res images of a tank I recently purchase and threw a couple of coats of paint stripper on. The vast majority of paint is off and I've taken a orbital sander with 80 grit paper to a good portion of the tank and the tank bottom (which did have a fair amount of rust on it).

Black spots on the tank? Is that some sort of paint undercoating? it is the metal itself? is it how rust starts?

I've no cue about these things and just wanted to know if I leave that alone or if I have to buff that out well before I can consider painting anything.

Also any suggestion on the tank underside would be good too. I've gotten a lot of the rust off but there are crevices not easily accessible with the sander. I've gone in and done what I can by hand but am not sure now much more to do. Also do I buy some sort of rust remover? Do I think about a rust bonder (like the POR-15 that I'd normally use inside the tank?)

Thanks.

Dark spots on tank are the beginning of oxidation. Paint stripper, especially the one called Aircraft Stripper has a tendency to turn oxidation black. Once you are down to bare metal on the tank, scuff it up with 180 grit paper, wipe it down with paint thinner (do not touch with bare hands after wiped down. Oils in your skin can get into the metal and cause paint trouble known as fisheye.), Spray the tank with a "self etching primer" It's really transparent, so your not looking to hose the tank down with it. Self etching primer also is called Acid Etching Primer, it will temporarily stop oxidation from forming and provides a suitable substrate for the primer/sealer to adhere to. Wait for the etch primer to dry (15-30min) and spray a coat of primer/sealer on the tank.