Transition mixture screws

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Transition mixture screws

I have a gs 1100 L that I got a really good deal on. I love the bike and it runs great except when you are coming off of idle giving just a little throttle there is a slow response right between idle and cruise. Its almost feels like the bike is taking off in second everytime. I have went through the checklist in your greeting and the only thing that I haven't been through is the mixture screws because they have brass caps over them. I am an automotive technician and in my world that means it wasn't meant to be messed with. At the point I am at it is the only thing that makes sense because I am definatly having a transition problem but when they are capped off it gives me the intention they are not to be f**ked with. The bike idles perfectly and cruises perfectly. How do you remove these caps? Am I barking up the wrong tree?

Carzxl, the caps were put on there for EPA purposes and need to be removed to adjust the fuel/air mixture. Some drill them out and some use a sheet metal screw to remove them. Either way be careful the screws are not far under the caps and you do not want to damage them while removing the caps. If they have never been off you also might want to get the Robert Barr o-ring kit and replace the little o-ring under the mixture screws. It will be hard to get a consistant air/fuel mix unless they are in good shape which after 25+ years is not too likely.
    82 GS850L - The Original http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/d...ePics067-1.jpg
    81 GS1000L - Brown County Hooligan http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/d...ivePics071.jpg
    83 GS1100L - Super Slab Machine http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/d...t=DCP_1887.jpg
    06 KLR650 - "The Clown Bike" http://s224.photobucket.com/albums/d...nt=SERally.jpg
    AKA "Mr Awesome"

Comment