Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Specific questions about carbs and such.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Specific questions about carbs and such.

I've been searching the forums for a few hours now and havent found exactly what I'm looking for. I'm very new to all this, but willing and wanting to learn. So a few questions (about my 1979 GS 750 L) if you guys would be so kind.

Ok, first off, the bike starts up pretty well but takes a good long time (3-5 minutes) to idle on it's own. While doing that it pops and threatens to die when I ease off the choke. So, I took the new looking spark plugs out and they were pitch black. Clearly the bike is running rich. Question is what exactly can be done to remedy this?
    previous owner told me the carbs were cleaned a little over a year ago, and last "service" was 8 months or so ago. I've found on here carbs need to be adjusted and something with the jets needs to be done to have the bike run less rich but I hoping for specifics.

Secondly, is there any disadvantages to switching my air filter system to pods rather than the air box thing?

Thirdly, I'm replacing my speedometer cable since my speedometer dosent work, thing is, the cable attached at the wheel in such a way I'd have to take apart the front wheel assembly. Just checking if theres any red flags I should know about doing this? Or tricks to getting the cable off?

Thanks again.

Originally posted by cloudkmr View Post

Clearly the bike is running rich.
    It's lean.

This is why it takes so long to run without the choke, and why it pops when you reduce the choke. The plugs are black because they have not been hot enough to clean themselves, and the cylinders don't really fire very efficiently when they are not thoroughly warmed up anyway. Most likely you have air leaks around the carburetor boots or the airbox, there could be other causes also.