carb size vs performance?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

carb size vs performance?

This I am sure is a complete newbie question, but couldnt find it in my searches.

Last night I went and picked up a 82 GSX1100E for a friend of mine, and it came with and extra box of parts.

There is a complete set of 34mm carbs, and it got me to wondering whether...
    • A) do larger diameter carbs make a bike faster?
    • B) if so, do the CV34mm carbs fit on a 78 GS1000 that is currently equiped with 26mm?
    I am not too seriously considering a change since I have spent quite a few hours and ordred all the parts to rebuild my 26mm stock carbs.

Just one of those thoughts that made me say Hmm?
    82 gs1100e FAUX Skunk
    80 gs1000s

CV carbs have the butterfly valve in the middle of the throat blocking airflow, so you can't compare the size directly with VM carbs. I suspect the CV carbs have more flow capacity regardless, but not enough to justify changing out the parts, particularly if your bike is stock otherwise. BTW, the CV carb heads have larger intake ports where the carb boots attach so you can't easily switch carbs between the two types.
    Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846

Carb rebuild tutorial...https://gsarchive.bwringer.com/mtsac...d_Tutorial.pdf

KZ750E Rebuild Thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...0-Resurrection

Comment

Ok thanks for the info. Have any idea what these dirty 34mm should be selling for on ebay?
      82 gs1100e FAUX Skunk
      80 gs1000s

Comment

Originally posted by Gregory View Post
        Ok thanks for the info. Have any idea what these dirty 34mm should be selling for on ebay?
        have a look and see what they are going for..........
        1978 GS1085.

Just remember, an opinion without 3.14 is just an onion!

Comment

Not much.