LOTS of white smoke from exhaust, new oil leak

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LOTS of white smoke from exhaust, new oil leak

Hi there. Ive been re-jetting my carbs on my '81 GS850 for a while now. 6 Sigma stage 3 jet kit didn't have the right sized jets, and after months, Ive finally got some that work. I just got the carbs back on, and my bike started right away, but there was a lot of white smoke shooting out my 4-1 exhaust. Then I noticed there was a dribble of oil seeping from the bottom of my engine case. The oil is coming from a hole without threads on the bottom under the alternator side of the bike. i'm not sure where the leak is at, or where this hole leads to, but I'm just guessing that it has something to do with the white smoke in my exhaust.
    I'm a noob, and i stupidly was laying on my ignition switch, trying to get my bike to start out of frustration. It turns out that my jets were just way too small. Would laying on the starter without the engine firing have damaged my engine and caused a leak? If I have somehow damaged my engine out of ignorance, feel free to tell me how stupid I am. Thank you.
    Last edited by Guest; 12-07-2012, 12:30 AM.

White is usually water or coolant...which these bikes don't have. Since the bike was sitting for awhile, it's possible that there was condensation in the cylinders or in the carbs, and that would cause a bit of white smoke when you first started it. That would go away pretty quick though. Another cause of smoke on startup, particularly after sitting, is leaky valve guide seals. If it is a constant thing, as in the smoke never goes away, I guess the rings might be frozen or something, but I'd need a little more background on the bike, where you store it, how you ride it, that kind of thing.