Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Idle Problem

Hey guys,
    I'm new to this forum and road bikes. I used to ride motocross a bunch and decided it was time to buy a project bike. I just got a '78 GS1000, it wasn't running at the time and I can get it to start up but it is idling in the 7-8k range so I kill it within a few seconds. The PO obviously didn't know what he was doing because all the fuel and vacuum lines were in the wrong place and I'm surprised it ever ran.

I cleaned the carbs already and am just wondering what could cause it to idle that high. I've turned the idle screw very low and am having troubles fixing this. Also I'm new to working on bikes but tend to pick it up pretty easy. Any feedback on what is causing this would be great thanks.

First of all, WELCOME.

Second, how did you "clean the carbs"?

Third, 7-8k is NOT "idling".

Let's assume for a moment that you did a proper cleaning of the carbs. If the throttle cable is installed incorrectly, it will hold the throttle open, regarless of the idle screw setting.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)
    (Click on my username in the upper-left corner for e-mail info.)

Comment

Originally posted by Steve View Post
      Let's assume for a moment that you did a proper cleaning of the carbs. If the throttle cable is installed incorrectly, it will hold the throttle open, regarless of the idle screw setting.