Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Running rich, One carb leeking, Jets too big?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Running rich, One carb leeking, Jets too big?

Hi all, I'm a new 1980 GS750L owner!

I bought this bike knowing it wasn't running right hoping to restore it to good condition and make it into a little cafe racer. I have very little experience with bikes (only owned a 97 Honda VT1000 before) and have never worked on carbs. I am pretty good with cars so im sure much of that experience will translate.

I have been reading, researching and asking friends for advice. I initially just cleaned the carbs (they were pretty gunked up, PO ran really old gas through them when he tried to show me that it still ran....ugh clearly he hadn't winterized the bike).

After a cleaning and not touching any adjustments I got the bike running. The carb just to the right of the fuel line started leaking fuel after a few minutes idling. While riding, without the cheap (I'm guessing Emgo or whatever it is) pod filters on, that carb seemed to leak less sometimes not at all. At first I thought it was the float needles or o rings, so those were checked/cleaned again, new o-rings and the floats adjusted to 22.5mm. still leaks.

The bike also bogs really bad....I mean really bad. Right now I guessing it's running rich. Ill pull the plugs (just put new ones in when I cleaned carbs). I also noticed that the main jets are two different sizes 140 and 137.5. Seems way too big to me. stock is 112.5. The exhaust is stock and the only change from stock is the pods.

I will also be setting the valve lash after work today (assuming this is as easy as it is on a car...a few wrenches and some feeler gauges).

I have a book for it (equivalent of a haynes manual for a car, not home forgot the name).

Anyway, my question, sorry I'm long winded, is what would you suggest regarding the leak, oversized jets, possible rich condition and bogging?