Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Red line start + oil leak 1980 GS450L -- HELP!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Red line start + oil leak 1980 GS450L -- HELP!!

Hi, all. Newbie here, so apologies if I don't get this right. Here's my issue:

Just restored an 80 GS450L. A capable friend did a lot of the work but he's out of the country for a few weeks, so no help there. I go to start it up and it immediately revs to full redline and bleeds oil. Oil leak stops after about 2 minutes when I kill the bike. This has happened both times I've attempted to start it. I thought I was accidentally opening the throttle, but sadly it doesn't seem that simple. What's going on? Vacuum leak? Throttle cable issue? Am I hurting the engine badly by this happening? I'm more concerned with the start up than the oil leak right now (assuming they're not related). Thanks for any help.

Originally posted by prmccormack View Post
    Throttle cable issue? Am I hurting the engine badly by this happening?
    Two mintutes at redline on a stone cold engine?

Even the bulletproof GS engine doesn't like that much.

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Originally posted by prmccormack View Post
      Hi, all. Newbie here, so apologies if I don't get this right. Here's my issue:

Just restored an 80 GS450L. A capable friend did a lot of the work but he's out of the country for a few weeks, so no help there. I go to start it up and it immediately revs to full redline and bleeds oil. Oil leak stops after about 2 minutes when I kill the bike. This has happened both times I've attempted to start it. I thought I was accidentally opening the throttle, but sadly it doesn't seem that simple. What's going on? Vacuum leak? Throttle cable issue? Am I hurting the engine badly by this happening? I'm more concerned with the start up than the oil leak right now (assuming they're not related). Thanks for any help.