Stalling when hot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stalling when hot

This just reared its head since its finally getting warm out here. When coming to a stop and the clutch is in, it died and didn't really care for starting right back up. If it sits for a bit and cools off, it will start back up, and even bump start.

I parked it in the driveway and let it idle for about 10 minutes and it finally coughed and died again. It starts with starter fluid, so its back to a weak fuel supply again I guess. Is there a hot idle circuit screw or is this an internal issue?

I bumped up the idle from 900-1000rpm to about 1200-1300rpm and it seemed less inclined to crap out. Outside of that, the bike runs phenomenally. Much harder than I expected a 572cc bike to run.

I'm no expert but I know these Jap inline fours idle better over 1k rpm.
    1982 GS1100E V&H "SS" exhaust, APE pods, 1150 oil cooler, 140 speedo, 99.3 rear wheel HP, black engine, '83 red

2016 XL883L sigpic Two-tone blue and white. Almost 42 hp! Status: destroyed, now owned by the insurance company. The hole in my memory starts an hour before the accident and ends 24 hours after.

Comment

The factory manual states something above 1000rpm.

A secondary issue is a slightly stretched throttle cable. Any way to take slack out of them?

Comment

Originally posted by Hooptie View Post
        A secondary issue is a slightly stretched throttle cable. Any way to take slack out of them?
        Try the cable adjuster?

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Forgive my newness. Is that a barrel mount at the grip or on the carb rack?

I guess I could get off my narrow butt and walk out and look. But its hidden behind the Mustang.

Comment

Could overheated coils cause this? I may start the bike and park it in the driveway after work today to see if it acts up.

Comment

Well,