1981 1000gl Exhaust questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1981 1000gl Exhaust questions

I will start by saying I am new to Suzuki GS's. I have done some reading and did use the search function first.

My question is this. What headers will fit my 81 1000gl? Some are listed to only fit to 1980 others only say they fit the E model. What is the difference as far as what fits what? I am ok with fabricating and making things fit as long as the header fits the head. Along with that will a header that fits an 750 or 850 or 1100 ect fit as well? Sorry for the newbe question. I just got this bike on trade and it's rough. The exhaust is rusted out bald flat tires brake arm was seized in the pivot broken left side switch cover and on and on.

So as I fix if I am going to spend money, I want to spend it on performance upgrades like a 4 into 1 header.

Did I also read somewhere the carbs off of a newer GS or GSX are a direct replacement and provide performance gains?

How about a 17" front wheel that matches the rear? I have seen 18 and 19 I have a 19 now but would like a 17". That's not a big deal just curious.

I like the look of a 4 into 1 and the sound as well. I have no problem jetting carbs. Just looking to get pointed in the right direction. I want to buy used and spend as little as possible. I want to know all possibilities so I can start searching.

One last question. There is a spring loaded knob under the carbs attached to the back of the cylinders. What is that and what does it do?

I know I probably should have separated each question into it's own thread. My main questions are about the exhaust and carburetors the rest was just afterthought. Thank You in advance. I'm looking forward to bringing this bike back from the dead.
    Last edited by Guest; 07-16-2014, 04:48 PM.

". looking forward to bringing this bike back from the dead."