1980GS1100L Leaking Gas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1980GS1100L Leaking Gas

Newbie here. Glad I found this site!! Did not know there was such a site. AWESOME!! A group of GS lovers....

Ok, I just rebuilt my carbs. Also put new boots on engine and airbox. Started right up. Has not done that in years. Oh, I have owned this bike since new 34 years wow. Anyway, I was letting it warm up so I could do a little carb adjusting.
    Started seeing some smoke and smelling gas. Looked down and gas leaking onto concrete. So my questions are

1. Is there a way I can tell which carb is not working? Float most likely stuck is my guess???

2. I also put on new gas and vent lines which are clear. I can see gas in the vent line. Is that normal???

Love the old bikes!!!

Thanks

Don

Try tapping all the bowls and make sure the fuel T is not leaking. Welcome.
    David
    1998 Suzuki Bandit
    1978 GS750 gone but not forgotten
    1978 GS1000 - gone
    1981 GS850 - gone

Comment

Pull the plugs to see if they have gas on them. You can put your fingers close the exhaust pipes where they exit the engine when it's running, or squirt them with water to see if one is 'cold'. Mist some spray talc around the areas you think may be leaking, it will show where the moisture is. Sounds like you're close to getting it running great!
      Regards,
      Jason

Comment

Tell us more about this carb rebuild. When you say rebuilt them do you mean you cleaned/dipped and did orings or did you truly rebuild with a kit or use aftermarket parts, particularly the needles and seats?

If so I'd put the old ones back in and as long as you can't feel a groove on the needle with your fingernail they should seal just fine...check to make sure that your floats aren't sticking on a new float bowl gasket as well. May need to trim one up.
        ----------------------------------------------------------------