Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1977 GS750 with 20k miles: Should I buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1977 GS750 with 20k miles: Should I buy?

Hello,
    I've been browsing the forums for awhile now, but this is my first post. I've been looking for a GS for almost a year now. In my area, most of the bikes on Craigslist have been modded (chopped, bobbed, or just plain butchered). I came across a 77 GS750 that looks to be in good condition and the only mod is pod filters. However, the bike has more than 23,000 miles on it. I'd like to know your thoughts on buying a bike with this amount of mileage.

I've heard folks say they'd rather have a 40 yr old bike with more miles so you know it's been ridden and not sitting for the past 10 years. Is 20k miles too much? Would you consider a GS with so many miles?

I'm new to bikes in general and this would be my first bike. I've ridden dirt bikes when I was a kid, but have never owned or purchased a bike. I saw the write up on examining the regulator/rectifier and plan to bring my multimeter with me. Any tips on what else to look for on these bikes? I've worked on cars since I was young so I understand how an engine works and I'm comfortable getting my hands dirty. I'm not afraid to rebuild carbs or tackle regulator issues, but I'd hate to get a bike that needs major work (opening up the motor). How often do these bikes need valve adjustments?

I haven't been able to find a "buyer's guide" on this site. Any tips, advice, or links would be greatly appreciated! I hope to join your ranks soon!
    Jordan

1977 Suzuki GS750 (My first bike)
    2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100
    1973 BMW R75/5

77 gs750 is a great bike go for it. No 20k is not to many miles
    sigpic1982 gs750e 1186 oil cooled engine USD front mono shock rear
    1994 gsxr1100w
    1981 gs1260dragbike (this one I've owned for29yrs)

Comment