86 GS550ES Only starts with starter fluid, dies when revved

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

86 GS550ES Only starts with starter fluid, dies when revved

I bought this bike about a week ago non running. The PO said it had been sitting for 8 years. I'm no stranger to getting bikes up and running but I have to admit this thing is confusing me.

I have cleaned the carburetors twice, changed the oil, new spark plugs, new battery, and I de-rusted the gas tank which was in really bad shape. I even took the bike for a ride up the street and it was running well, but it stalled when I came to a stop and I ended up pushing it home. It will start and run, but only after I spray starting fluid in the airbox.

I have verified that the carbs are clean and the float bowls are getting fuel.

My question is, could the issue be something electrical or valve related? Is there something I am not thinking of?

Any help is appreciated. I am still new to this bike so forgive me I don't know much.

Thanks.

Well,you need to clean the carbs properly
    Did you follow the tutorial?
    http://zeus.mtsac.edu/~cliff/storage...d_Tutorial.pdf. You have the 2 barrel carbs, but the basics are the same

It takes air, fuel and spark to run

If it runs with ether, that shows you have spark and air. So, fuel is all that's missing. Could it be that you didn't get all of the rust out of the fuel system?
    1978 GS 1000 (since new)
    1979 GS 1000 (The Fridge, superbike replica project)
    1978 GS 1000 (parts)
    1981 GS 850 (anyone want a project?)
    1981 GPZ 550 (backroad screamer)
    1970 450 Mk IIID (THUMP!)
    2007 DRz 400S
    1999 ATK 490ES
    1994 DR 350SES

Comment

Big T,

This tutorial will help me very much. Thank you. I will try again tomorrow and be a lot more through.

Comment

And while you are at it, THROW THAT CAN OF ETHER IN THE GARBAGE.

sigpic
        mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"