Cannot start GS700ES, no spark

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cannot start GS700ES, no spark

I got the bike not running, it was sitting for a while, I tested the coils, signal generator, and it has new spark plugs all tested the right resistance. Also tested the kill switch, side stand switch, neutral position switch which they also seem fine. but no spark. Im not sure what to do, I am new to motorcycles and have very little experience, hopefully I can get it running and roadworthy.

With the ignition key in the “On” position, do you have voltage at the wire feeding the coils?
    (I think it might be an O/W wire, not sure on the GS700.)
    Last edited by pdqford; 10-10-2023, 09:36 PM.
    Jim, in Central New York State.

1980 GS750E (bought used June,1983)
    1968 CB350 Super Sport (bought new Oct,1968)
    1962 CA77 305 Dream (bought used Feb,1963)

Comment

Ignitor failure on those bikes is somewhat common. Many times the R/R fails, resulting in over charging, and the high voltage kills the ignitor. The ignition advance is built into the ignitor, so that complicates replacement. The following bikes use the same ignitor. That may help you expand your search. Some people go with a Dyna ignition, but I'm not sure what model will fit. A Dyna S is the cheapest, but that assumes you can install a mechanical advancer of a different model bike.

Suzuki Motorcycle 1982 GS850G SIGNAL GENERATOR

Suzuki Motorcycle 1983 GS750ES SIGNAL GENERATOR

Suzuki Motorcycle 1983 GS750E SIGNAL GENERATOR

Suzuki Motorcycle 1982 CRUISER - GS1100G SIGNAL GENERATOR

Suzuki Motorcycle 1985 GS700ES SIGNAL GENERATOR

Suzuki Motorcycle 1985 ES GS700E SIGNAL GENERATOR

Suzuki Motorcycle 1983 GS850G SIGNAL GENERATOR

Suzuki Motorcycle 1983 GS1100G SIGNAL GENERATOR
      Ed

To measure is to know.

Mikuni O-ring Kits For Sale...https://www.thegsresources.com/_foru...ts#post1703182

Top Newbie Mistakes thread...http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum...d.php?t=171846