Clean wiring harness with DeOxit-bullet problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clean wiring harness with DeOxit-bullet problem

Trying to fend off electrical gremlins, I'm treating my entire wiring harness with DeOxit and DeOxit Gold contact cleaner. No problem with the tail light area, or fuse block area, or under-tank area. Behind the headlight, the plastic plugs come out OK, but the single wire bullet connectors are a problem. There are about 10 bullet connectors in there, and I have only been able to get one of them disconnected. Probably because the last time they were touched was at the factory. They are so tight, it feels like I'm going to pull the wire off before the bullet comes apart.

Is there some special technique for pulling apart bullet connectors other than just yanking on the wire? Alternatively, how effective would the contact cleaner be if I just sprayed it on without disconnecting the bullet?

I'm no expert, but you could always shoot some WD40 or some PB Blaster in there to loosen it up. Something that eats the corrosion. If I'm not mistaken you could also soak them in a little bit of oil.

Comment

Originally posted by DPage View Post
      There are about 10 bullet connectors in there, and I have only been able to get one of them disconnected. Probably because the last time they were touched was at the factory. They are so tight, it feels like I'm going to pull the wire off before the bullet comes apart.

Is there some special technique for pulling apart bullet connectors other than just yanking on the wire
      Some small pliers. Grab the bullet back by the crimp. They may be corroded together.

Cut em off and crimp on some knife connectors and use a piece of plastic tubing for insulation.

82 1100 EZ (red)

"You co-opting words of KV only thickens the scent of your BS. A thief and a putter-on of airs most foul. " JEEPRUSTY

Comment

Take 2 pair of pliers and grab each half twist a little they will come right apart