How to connect? - re-post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to connect? - re-post

I'll be picking up a new SH775 from the polaris dealer on Saturday. I just picked up this Triumph lead, and I'm a little confused about connecting it. I assume I'll be cutting the smaller connectors off of the lead. One side of the lead has 3 black wires that I will connect to the stator with bullet connectors.

Question 1 - Can I just leave the infamous headlight loop disconnected? I assume there will be no current there.

Question 2 - The other side of the lead has 2 brown and 2 black wires. Do I tie both brown wires to the battery positive and both black to ground? Should any of these go to the battery negative?

I'm an electrical newb, so I appreciate all suggestions.
    posplayr referred me here to introduce the SH775 (we have exchanged a little correspondence over the years regarding Regulator Technology)
    I've been long time advocate (one of early adopters) of the Shindengen MOSFET which I have always promoted as a reliability fix for high failure SCR Shunt Regulators - while recognizing does nothing for the stator reliability.
    Generally has been the best solution from cost-effective perspective for those bikes/models which have high R/R failure rates but do not readily burn stators
    However I do recognize the benefits of Series Regulation and waiting for suitable (read affordable!!) opportunity to get on board.
    I recently picked up a Compufire 55402 for a great price and looking forward to doing some testing (although not much new to learn there after all the work posplayr & others here have done has done in that regard).

So enough on the background - just wished to offer my congrats & appreciation to those pioneering this recent application development (looks like the R/R itself has been around for a few years, but found new life in after-market thanks to efforts of various on this forum).