Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is the easiest way to remedy my Charging system?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is the easiest way to remedy my Charging system?

Hello all
    Ive been riding my 1982 GS850GL for 3 weeks now that is is back up and running after a 14 year hiatus (last registered in 2000 by PO). My indie did a complete tune up / carb rebuild / valve adjustment, tires, etc.

I rode it for 2 weeks , then came home from a ride and turned it off. It refused to start after 10 minutes of being off, so tested the battery, it was at 12.2V.

Left it on the battery tender overnight, started it, ran at 13.15V at 5000 RPM at the battery with no accessories on.

Now, I'm no mechanic and I just want it to charge right. I would like a charging system that is bombproof yet easy to install and be able to run a light bar, GPS and upgraded lights - at some point .

My question is stated- what is the Easiest way to accomplish my goal?

I am willing to toss out the old components and simply buy new ones because I'm not cheap.

From what I have been reading, it means a new Stator (Rick's) and a new R/R. What kind I do not know.

I'm not looking for any complicated bypass wiring or other project that will result in my frustration, confusion or downtime.

What is my easiest upgrade plan?

Thanks!
    BG

Easiest way or would you prefer to do it correctly?

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Start here

Technical Info posts that are deemed to be important or popular will be placed here for easier access. If you feel a post should be moved from the Technical Info forum to here then PM the Administrator with your request.
      Mike

1982 GS1100EZ

Text messages with my youngest brother Daniel right after he was paralyzed:

Me: Hey Dan-O. Just wanted to say howdy & love ya!

Dan-O: Howdy and Love you too. Doing good, feeling good.

Me: Give 'em hell, Little Bro!

Dan-O: Roger that!

Comment

Electrex make excellent replacements