Mini battery or batteryless

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mini battery or batteryless

Gentlemen, your advice if you please.I'm currently restoring a gs850 that I rescued from the scrappies. I'm turning it into a cafe racer and want to clean up the mid section where the battery resides. I have two options:1, mini battery tucked in the tail. Does anyone have any experience in such things? The bike starts well on the kickstart so I'm happy to reduce the wiring loom substantially and just have the battery run lights etc. if I go down this route and get a smaller, less powerful battery will it get cooked by the charging system. Any suggestions on what batteries would be suitable.2. Battery less. I have no experience in this system but like the idea. I'm happy to build a new loom to keep it totally simple. But would like your honest opinions on pros and cons. Bear in mind this bike is not a daily ride. I live in the south of France where it's warm and dry and will be riding it for joy only. Maybe even a show or two if I'm happy with the results.Thanks for your help in advance.Martin

Evidently you have a '79 model. (The only year with a kick-start.)

A battery is necessary for proper running, the voltage regulator needs a reference point. For your purpose, a sealed battery would be somewhat mandatory. An AGM battery (that is a construction type, not a brand) would work well. They have better-than-average power for their size, so you could use a smaller battery, especially if you limit use of the electric starter.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"
    #2 son: 1980 GS1000G
    Family Portrait
    Siblings and Spouses
    Mom's first ride
    Want a copy of my valve adjust spreadsheet for your 2-valve per cylinder engine? Send me an e-mail request (not a PM)