Disassembled GS750 - want to test compression

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Disassembled GS750 - want to test compression

Hi all! I have a 1982 non-running (never cranked) GS750 that has basically been completely disassembled and the motor is mounted to an engine stand. With the starter cover removed, i see a large black wire (assuming this is ground) and then 3 small wires. Yellow, white/blue, white/green. I thought by simply providing voltage (via car battery) to one or more of these leads would force the starter to crank. Apparently I'm doing something wrong. Can someone lend me a hand? Sorry - I'm a total newb.

The big black wire that connects to the starter itself is the power lead to the starter. +12v to it from the battery through the starter relay and the starter turns, hopefully the engine does too. The starter grounds to the engine case...

The other pretty colored wires are the stator wires. Usually they are cooked black on one end. Stator, not Starter! Don't use them to crank the starter!

Life is too short to ride an L.

Comment

Ok, so i need to dig the starter relay out of the storage totes and hope its still functional? I was hoping i could eliminate everything and go straight to the starter itself, because we had a no-crank condition when we first got the bike.

Originally posted by tkent02 View Post
      The big black wire that connects to the starter itself is the power lead to the starter. +12v to it from the battery through the starter relay and the starter turns, hopefully the engine does too. The starter grounds to the engine case...

The other pretty colored wires are the stator wires. Usually they are cooked black on one end. Stator, not Starter! Don't use them to crank the starter!

Comment

Ok -clearly im doing something wrong - or the starter is just plain dead. This is what I'm working with.

Comment

I've tried energizing the black wire on the starter directly, not using the relay.