Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New bike, new member, new PROBLEM!

Hello all!
    I'm new to the GS world as I just bought my first bike last night! A GS650E (with Canadian electronics...?).

I've owned and worked on a Honda GL500 with LOTS of help from the GL/CX forum, so I know how helpful these forums can be.

I won't go into too much detail about the bike, since I don't think this is the right section to post it in, but I can't resist saying I ended up getting this bike for $250!! The guy was older and just bought a dual sport, so he just wanted to get rid of this one. It needs some work, but the PO I bought it from had many other ATVs/motorcycles and a motorcycle lift, worked at a Mercedes dealership, and knew what he was talking about, so I trust he didn't do anything insanely stupid with this bike.

SO, on to the major problem with the bike => Cylinders 1 and 4 are not firing properly, or maybe at all. He described the problem like so...He would commute about 30 miles to work fine. On the way home at about mile 10 he lost power, could only get up to about 30mph, but it only lasted about a minute and then the bike came out of it. The next day it did the same thing at about mile 10, but it lasted a little longer. The next day it did it again at mile 10, and it never came out of it. When he pulled over he checked the pipes and 1 and 4 were cold.

Immediately I thought...COIL! But the PO had replaced the stator with the Mosfet (he must've read the Stator papers!) and the Shindengen reg/rec (I haven't fully checked to see if it's authentic). He told me about the headlight loop and the electrical problems before I read about it in more depth on here. He also replaced the original coils with the Dyantek coil and ignition system. He's put about 8,000 miles on the bike since those upgrades.