Having some general issues, help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Having some general issues, help?

I got an 81 Suzuki gs650 late last year. Im brand new to the moto world and recently got my license. I have a decent amount of work on it. I cleaned the gas tank (gs1100 tank) with vinegar and then gave it a fresh black and red paint job with aftermarket badges. I changed headlight, added sweet wrap around license plate holder, drop down mirrors, changed battery, new fuel filter, and cleaned and tuned the carbs. I’m having some issues that I don’t know where to begin with. Just because my lack of general knowledge.

The Bike starts up and runs nicely when idled. I will be riding and all is well for a little. I get some popping backfire and it seems like the engine lapses. The throttle seems less responsive after that sometimes. I asked a guy I know who is a mechanic and he thinks it could be weak spark? So I ordered spark plugs and will be changing them soon. I saw another post somewhere that said it may be because it’s not supposed to have pods on the carbs? (Came with bike idk what brand/quality.)

after a short ride there is a little bit of smoke, and I can not tell where it’s coming from. The headers are wrapped and I think it may be from there but I’m not sure. It’s not a lot of smoke either, just enough to be noticeable and be concerned about. Is there a general cause?

like I said I’m brand new to this stuff, but I am capable and wanting to soak up knowledge. Any information or tips help. Thank you!
    Starts
    01-28-2024
    Ends
    02-20-2024

You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.

Comment