Winter maintanence sequencing for best results

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Winter maintanence sequencing for best results

I've got a big list of things I'd like to take care of on the GS this winter. I'm trying to get the bike to start better in the cold and eliminate frequent popping during spirited deceleration. Still being a total noob, I don't know if there's a sequence of jobs that would make the most sense. Or, is there something I'm leaving out? (I'll be using the guides on BassCliff's website)

1. Check and adjust valve clearance
    2. Dip the carbs, install new o-rings, replace what ever is leaking gas in my #4 carb
    3. Sync carbs
    4. Check compression

Sounds good to me. What about an oil and filter change as well? She'll love you for it
    79 GS1000S
    79 GS1000S (another one)
    80 GSX750
    80 GS550
    80 CB650 cafe racer
    75 PC50 - the one with OHV and pedals...
    75 TS100 - being ridden (suicidally) by my father

Comment

Oh yea, that's the first thing I'll do.

Here's my full mechanical list (not in order):
      1. Check and adjust valve clearance
      2. Dip the carbs, install new o-rings, replace what ever is leaking gas on my #4 carb
      3. Sync carbs
      4. Check compression
      5. Change the pumpkin oil
      6. Change gear box oil
      7. Possibly rebuild the rear mater cylinder
      8. Get the bugs out of the turn signals
      9. Adjust fork preload
      10. End of season oil change
      11. new fuel line

I've also got a separate cosmetic list

Comment

Definitely do the valve clearances and carbs together but before the synching. Past that, what condition are your intake and airbox boots in?
        Cowboy Up or Quit. - Run Free Lou and Rest in Peace

1981 GS550T - My First
        1981 GS550L - My Eldest Daughter's - Now Sold
        2007 GSF1250SA Bandit - My touring bike

Sit tall in the saddle Hold your head up high