80 550e Dyna S Questions (searched)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

80 550e Dyna S Questions (searched)

I just want to make sure I am getting the right stuff for my bike. I am new to this and I just want to make my GS experiance a good one. Any help is greatly appreciated. Here we go!

1980 Gs 550E
    17000 and change
    CDI unit is bad verified with manual (bought it first)

I am going to get a new ignition and coils:

Here is my question, What do I need to get to make it work. I want to get the dyna s, because that is what everyone seems to use as the standard. As for the coils, It is either going to be accel or dyna (green).
    I could use some basic guidence on the Mechanical advance unit and where the best place is to get one. What else do I need?

-Just for referance I plan on riding this bike on the street and probally not going to do any performance upgrades, just those that make it more reliable.
    I also work on small aircraft for a living, so I have a small amount of skill with tools

Thanks for all your help and I am so glad to find this forum.

-Jay

You need the Dyna DS3-2 for your bike, as for the mechanical advance unit keep an eye on ebay for one. They were on the older bikes that had points. You can also pick up coils on ebay from time to time a lot cheaper then buying new.

Comment

Thanks for the help...

Comment

What bikes mechanical advancing unit can I use? will any of them work or do I need one off a 550?

-Jay

Comment

advance