Which oil to use and how much?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which oil to use and how much?

I have just bought, and am trying to get running an '82 GS650 with 16,000 miles which had been sitting for about 5 years. I am going to change the oil today. Can anyone tell me what sort of oil I should buy? I am a total newbie to bikes, so please don't assume I know anything. I plan on using dino (at least for this oil change, maybe synth later, but I don't want to get into the whole synthetic/dino issue), but I have no idea what weight I should buy. Nor do I know how much my bike would need. I can see where to put it in, but I have no idea how I am supposed to know when it is filled to the appropriate level. Does the little porthole have a level marked on it? (I am at home, the bike at work so I can't look for this last one right now.) I live in southern California so the bike will never see anything even close to freezing temperatures. Is motorcycle oil different from ordinary engine oil? Thanks for any help,
    Dan