Hard starting 78 GS750

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hard starting 78 GS750

Hello, I recently found a 78 GS750 that has a header and Kirker exhaust and a jet kit, also individual air filters installed. The bike runs great when it is warm, in fact it really screams, great throttle response and runs very smooth through the rev range. My problem is that it is very hard to start when cold. I did a full tune-up, replaced the coils and it still acts the same with the old points, condensers, plugs and coils. Would the fact that it has been re-jetted and a header installed require a hotter plug? I'm not a mechanic, but am capable of doing routine maintainence and tune-ups. All of my bikes in the past have been pretty much stock, so this is a bit new to me. Thr carbs were supposed to have been cleaned and synched by a qualified mechanic this spring. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

If the bike runs fine then warm, I would check if the choke works as is should.

Comment

clod starting

I have the same problem with my stock 78 gs1000 , One of the guys in the gsresources suggested turning the petcock to prime for 20 or so seconds then turn it back to run...................it works for me...........even with a old battery. 8)

Comment