CV or VM Carbs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CV or VM Carbs?

If I understand correctly the 1979 GS750L has VM type carbs.
    What is the difference between VM and CV?

I have little experience with carburators and want to learn how to repair and what I'm repairing. My son has the GS and I am trying to assist with the restoration. I currently ride an '85 GV1200GLF which has CV carbs from Mikuni which I have had the "pleasure" of rebuilding. Is there much difference?

Don't mean to ask questions that have probably been aked many times before, but search did not help...

Thanks,
    Wayne

CV carbs (80 and later) have a diaphram in the top. The diaphram is operated by the difference in the pressure acraost the carb, the diaphram moves a plugger up or down thereby increasing the size of the carb throat/bore (whatever wanna call it). Idea is to increase the size of the throat when airflow (cubic inches per second) increases to keep the velocity (inches per second) about the same.

Carbs previous to this did about the same but did it with mechanical linkage with the throttle to open similar plunger.

So as far as working on the carbs: the needles and jets and the floats and the float valves are perrty much the same.

Had 850G for 14 years. Now have GK since 2005.
    GK at IndyMotoGP Suzuki Display... ... GK on GSResources Page ... ... Euro Trash Ego Machine .. ..3 mo'cykls.... update 2 mocykl

Comment

Originally posted by Redman View Post
      CV carbs (80 and later) have a diaphram in the top. The diaphram is operated by the difference in the pressure acraost the carb, the diaphram moves a plugger up or down thereby increasing the size of the carb throat/bore (whatever wanna call it). Idea is to increase the size of the throat when airflow (cubic inches per second) increases to keep the velocity (inches per second) about the same.