Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Specific carb question

Hello,

I have a 79gs550, bone stock. I've pored over most of the carb-related threads, read my manual and the various materials here, but I want some specific advice.

I had gas leaking out of the overflow tube on a right-side carb. I took off the rack, replaced the float needle valve seat, float needle valve and adjusted the floats and made sure they worked freely. I also replaced the gaskets for good measure.

I had the carbs rebuilt about eight years ago. The bike has been well maintained, and I get good gas/stabilizer through the carbs every few weeks over winters. Besides my gas leakage, everything worked well before taking off the rack.

Here's my question:

Is it likely that the float needle valve/needle valve seat was the culprit? In your opinions, should I rebuild the carbs while I'm in there anyway?

As an amateur, I'm reluctant to fully rebuild the carbs. I have the parts and probably the skill, but I figure why mess with things if the float needle valve was the issue. I've cleaned things with carb spray as thoroughly as I can without fully disassembling.

Leave well enough alone or go all the way? All thoughts welcome.

I'll be putting on my brand new NOS gas tank I found on eBay, so I'm hoping to get it right the first time and get ridin' ASAP. Thanks guys and gals!

Does it run well? If so, why mess with it? If it ain't broke then don't fix it. Especially if they were rebuilt 8 weeks ago!

On the other hand, if you're like me, you'll take it apart and put it together, synch it etc., out of some wierd desire to know what's what.

Sounds like your fine now. The only reason to take them apart is if you like messin' around which is O.K. too.

Comment

Thanks, Mark. It was eight years, though, since I've rebuilt them - not weeks.

But I'm an "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" guy. I guess the carbs are pretty easy to get off either way.

I appreciate the opinion.

Comment