1980 GS1000L minor issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1980 GS1000L minor issues

First off, I did search. I knw how much forum goers hate repeat questions, but I failed to find the information I was looking for.

Currently, the only issues I have with my bike are a high idle and a possible leak. I've got plenty of experience with my 2000 GS500 twin carbs, but I haven't a clue how to synch 4 carbs.

I'll be looking over the bike more closely tomorrow morning, and will probably start tearing into it before next week. I can't do much serious work to it due my current... ahem... situation. So, I'd like any advice you all have before I start!

Is the high idle only after the bike warms up? If so, it's probably the o-rings in the intake tubes (Between the tubes and the head). Classic problem on these old bikes.

Lots of info on synching carbs, but here is the short version. First, you need a set with four gauges. You can use dial-type gauges or mercury sticks. Warm the engine to operating temp. Install the adapters that come with the gauges into the ports in the intake tubes. Supply fuel to the engine and block the intake port that goes to the petcock. Start the engine, set the idle speed to the Suzuki-recommended 1700 rpm to see what the readings are. #3 is your 'master' carb, there are adjuster screws with locknuts between all the carbs. Turn the screw between #3 and #2 to bring #2's reading to the same as #3. Adjust #1 to match, then #4. Suzuki recommends #2&3 to be about .5 cm lower than #1&4.

While you have the gauges connected, tweak the idle mixture screws (after you return idle to 1000 or so) to obtain the highest rpm from each one. Check the sync to make sure nothing changed. Remove the gauges, install the tank and go ride.

sigpic
    mine: 2000 Honda GoldWing GL1500SE and 1980 GS850G'K' "Junior"
    hers: 1982 GS850GL - "Angel" and 1969 Suzuki T250 Scrambler
    #1 son: 1986 Yamaha Venture Royale 1300 and 1982 GS650GL "Rat Bagger"