Which chain and sprockets do I choose?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which chain and sprockets do I choose?

My 1981 GS 750 Ex is due for an new chain and some new sprocets. I went to bikebandit.com to do some pricing and was rather thoughly overwhelmed. All the different brands and tooth ratios. What do the different tooth ratios do for you? I'm looking a dependable brand too. This is my first time buying any of this stuff. Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated.

Give Z1 Enterprises a call. They are very knowledgeable and helpful. Their prices are good and shipping is very quick.
    IBA# 24077
    '15 BMW R1200GS Adventure
    '07 Triumph Tiger 1050 ABS
    '08 Yamaha WR250R

"Krusty's inner circle is a completely unorganized group of grumpy individuals uninterested in niceties like factual information. Our main purpose, in an unorganized fashion, is to do little more than engage in anecdotal stories and idle chit-chat while providing little or no actual useful information. And, of course, ride a lot and have tons of fun.....in a Krusty manner."

Comment

No matter what, get an O RING or X RING chain! Steel sprockets in the rear are heavier than aluminum but will last LOTS longer. A 530 conversion kit with something in the area of 3 teeth BIGGER in the rear in gear ratio will make a good difference in accelleration. If your stock gearing with the 630 is 15/45 you will need to go something like 17/51 to get the same ratio gearing & have clearance for the smaller diameter 530 sprockets. Confused yet?!! LOL!!! If it were mine & it ISN'T a totally FREEWAY bike, IF the stock gearing were 15/45 (3.0 to 1), try a 530 conversion with 17/54 sprockets to have better take off! Try that! Good luck whatever you decide, Ray.

Comment

Originally posted by Rider2898 View Post