My wrenches must be magical!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My wrenches must be magical!

My wrenches must be magical because every time one of them touches my bike something breaks or something disappears! Now admittedly, I have zero experience working on bikes but it seems the most basic of maintenance tasks always turns into a magic act of some sort. Take yesterdays show for example. I wanted to change my newly aquired bikes oil from black to amber. In the process I figured I would also change my oil filter. Glad I did because it looked as though this had not been successfully accomplished before. As it turns out to get to the oil filter I had to remove the exhaust headers because of someones lame decision to put these four into one exhaust on my bike that seem to drag on every right turn. All went well until I wrenched off the final bolt while reinstalling the headers. Thats when it occurred to me. I think my wrench made the collars for the exhaust disappear. There are flanges on there but all of the flanges seem to be bent convex and the bolts seem to bottom out before completely securing the header.

Should there be collars of some sort on there?

I'm pretty confident I can remove the bolt but I can't find anywhere on the forum or in my manual what the size of the bolts are so I can replace them.

I know this information is somewhere on the forums but I have exhausted my computer time for today looking for it so please someone what size are those bolts and am I missing the collars? It's a 1978 GS 1000.

Here's a picture of the busted bolt and the huge gap where I think a collar should be.

and heres another shot of what my magic wrench made disappear this time.

and heres a shot of what the rest of the convex flanges look like.

and heres a picture of why my bike ran like crap all the way home when I bought it.

Your gap problem may be caused by

1. Lack of exhaust gaskets between head and header
    2. Lack of collars