Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So, replaced rear shocks, do I need fronts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So, replaced rear shocks, do I need fronts?

I am new to bikes, and wouldnt have know my bike needed shocks had you guys here told me it did.

How do you know that you need new front springs? Or seals? Or oil? Or???

If the seals don't leak you don't need them. Fork oil is one of the most overlooked maintainance items on any bike. You would be surprised how filthy it gets. As for springs you can do a static sag check to get an idea of where you're at or pull the springs and take some measurements to see if they are in spec.

Comment

So if I wanted to do a check without ripping the bike apart ( I need it to get to work every day) just to get a "whoa, that ain't right" idea, what would I do?

With my rears it was easy, I burned a strap I had put around the back to hold a bag on and it was over 6" above the rear tire, burned it off by the end of my road.

Fronts seem mushier than the new MDI's on the back but arent they supposed to be?

Comment

Get the front end up in the air with the wheel off the ground. Take a measurement between the bottom of the lower triple and the top of the fork lowers. Then with both wheels on the ground and your weight in the seat take another measurement. If your sag is more than about 1/3 of the total fork travel the springs are too light or worn out.

You really should consider flushing the fork and replacing the oil.
        Last edited by Guest; 04-27-2009, 05:55 PM. Reason: grammar

Comment

I will totally consider it, heh heh. No seriously I will add it to the list, just finding it REALLY hard to get the wife to let me work on the bike when "just an hour" always turns into 3-4.

When I play the "it's unsafe unless I fix it" card I get "then stop riding it" response, well played mrs. donimo, well played indeed.